Jan 5, 2010

San NIcolas USA Launches Scholarship Pageant, Anniversary

By Cesar G. Bonilla

        San Nicolaneous, USA launched its 2009 Scholarship Banquet and Anniversary Ball to raise funds for the less fortunate particularly those who come from San Nicolas, a town of Ilocos Norte. The affair was held at the Pacific Beach Hotel.

        The organization was first organized in 1940 by Matias Miguel and revived by Ms. Magdalena Pasion Domingo in 1965.

        Crowned during this anniversary ball were: Queen Alina Noelani Cariaga Camacho; 1st Princess Vivian Tabuyo Bonilla; 2nd Princess Love Joy Antonio; and 3rd Princess Ma. Jemaima Domingo.

         Some of the political leaders who came to show their support for the event were: Guest of Mayor Mufi Hannemann of the County of Honolulu, Hawaii, who was the guest speaker. Mayor Alfredo Valdez Jr. of San Nicolas, Ilocos Norte; Senator Robert Bunda and his wife; State Rep. Joey Manahan; and Consul Paul Raymund P. Cortes.

         In his speech, John H. De Los Santos, president of San Nicolaneous USA  enunciated  that helping  the deserving scholars  is a way of giving back  thankfulness and God’s blessings. On his  third year, he always emphasized  the need to fund such a noble undertaking.

         “That it is indeed noble  to have a mission but without the resources to carry out a mission, a mission remains noble  only in words  but not in deed. If the San Nicolaneous  can give back their blessings to help and mold prospective  scholars of San Nicolas, the success that they have reaped can be an everlasting emblem in the future,” De Los Santos said.

         The organization is run by the following officers: John H. De Los Santos, president; Larry Ramirez, vice president; Beatriz Santiago, secretary; Connie Ramirez, assistant secretary; Emelita Guillermo, treasurer; Warlita Baltazar, assistant treasurer; Vigilia Mariano, auditor; Margie Caraang, assistant auditor; Flor Martinez, Rebecca Mariano, and Betty Tolentino, public relations officers; Fely Burigsay, Letty Tesoro, Monica Ramos, Cresente Guillermo, Jose Baltazar, board of directors; Edgar Vicente, Joseph Tabios, sergeants-at-arms; Maggie Domingo, Estrella Cariaga, and Soledad Burgos, senior advisers; and Atty. Abraham Mariano, legal adviser.


No comments:

Post a Comment