Aug 7, 2010

Binhi at Ani Elects New Officers

KAHULUI, Maui-- Cecil Piros, co-owner of KPMW eadio, will head Binhi at Ani, for the next two years. She was elected president of the organization at the annual membership meeting last Sunday afternoon, June 27 at the Binhi at Ani Filipino Community Center.

Also elected were Florante Garcia, vice president; Sandra Sabino Tokunaga, recording secretary; Alice Ragasa,  corresponding secretary; Mylyn Barbosa, treasurer; Essie Arruiza, auditor; and Board Members Eleanor Aquinde, Emmanuel Baltazar, Jenny Bissel, Kenneth Bissen, Jr., Agrifina Cabebe, Pepita Cajudoy, Romeo Guzman, Jeffrey Marzan, Cora Molina, Frances Paz, Nora Takushi, and Nolly Yagin.

Outgoing president Norma Barroga will also serve in the Board of Directors.

Binhi at Ani is a 505[c][3] organization and will mark the 25th anniversary of its organization come September. It holds title to and manages Filipino Community Center at 780 Onehee Avenue, Kahului. It has been giving scholarship awards to college students since its organization, and has participated in various charitable undertakings like fundraising for typhoon and earthquake victims in the Philippines ansd also contributing to other Maui-based charitable organizations. Its annual schedule of events includes the mrs. Maui Filipina Pageant, Barrio Fiesta and, beginning last December, the Rice Festival.

Piros is an independent businesswoman of more than 30 years. She and husband Rey own Reycel Enterprises and operate KPMW radio and a travel agency. They used to have a thriving business importing Philippine products for distribution and sale on Maui, which they discounted when they decided to devote more time running their radio station. She is active in community service and has has served as president of Ilocosurian Association of Maui for several years.

Binhi at Ani was incorporated on September 9, 1985 "exclusively for charitable and educational purposes" and, more specifically "to give sholarship awards to deserving students who need financial assistance to further their education; to organiza and participate  in programs of activities promotive of mutual respect and understanding among peoples of different ethnic and cultural backgrounds; to undertake or participate or activites for promoting good citizenship and cultural awareness , and otherwise to engage in activities to promote general welfare."

The first officers, who were also members of the Board of Directors, were Agrifina T. Cabebe, president; Selberio Menor, vice-president; Ernesta Caniaveral, recording secretary; Magdalena Evangelista, corresponding secretary; Virgilio R. Agcolicol, treasurer; and Domingo Barbosa, auditor. Completing the Board were Vince Bagoyo, Jr., Mercedes D. Neri, Pepito Ragasa, and Rudy Seatriz.

No comments:

Post a Comment